Direct comparison
MDM vs Time: Choosing an E/M Level Basis
CPT lets you level an E/M visit by medical decision making or by total time — never both. What each requires, and which one to use when.
Written and maintained by CASRAI Editorial Board
Last updated
Ask CASRAI · included with Regulatory Radar
Ask about MDM vs Time: Choosing an E/M Level Basis
Ask CASRAI answers research-administration questions and cites the passages behind every claim — and says so when the corpus does not cover something, instead of guessing. It comes with a Regulatory Radar subscription at $29 a month, alongside the daily digest of regulatory changes and the dashboard of what changed.
150 questions a day, on this site, over the API, or inside your own tools through the CASRAI MCP server.
Everything CASRAI publishes — this page, the dictionary, the guides and the news — stays free to read, with no account and no card.
How do Medical decision making, Total time compare side by side?
The table below compares Medical decision making, Total time across 15 procurement-relevant dimensions, from what cpt says through emergency department.
Side-by-side comparison
| Dimension | Medical decision making | Total time |
|---|---|---|
| What CPT says | "Select the appropriate level of E/M services based on … the level of the MDM as defined for each service" | "… <em>or</em> the total time for E/M services performed on the date of the encounter" |
| What it measures | The complexity of the thinking: what problems you addressed, what data you analysed, and what risk the management carried. | The duration of the work, face-to-face and not, on one calendar date. |
| How it is scored | Three elements — problems addressed, data reviewed and analyzed, risk. <strong>Two of the three</strong> must be met or exceeded at the level. Never all three. | A single number compared against the code's threshold. No elements, no combinations. |
| What must be in the note | Evidence for the two elements you are relying on: which problems were evaluated or treated, which unique sources and tests, and the management decision and its risk. No total time required. | The total time on the date of the encounter, documented. CPT: it "should be documented in the medical record when it is used as the basis for code selection." |
| What counts toward it | Only problems <em>addressed</em> — evaluated or treated at the encounter. A problem another clinician manages, noted without additional assessment or documented care coordination, does not count. Nor does referral without evaluation or consideration of treatment. | Counts: preparing to see the patient; obtaining/reviewing separately obtained history; performing the exam/evaluation; counseling and educating patient/family/caregiver; ordering medications, tests, or procedures; referring and communicating with other health professionals (when not separately reported); documenting in the record; independently interpreting results (not separately reported) and communicating them; care coordination (not separately reported). Does <strong>not</strong> count: services reported separately, travel, and teaching that is general and not limited to the management of this specific patient. |
| Office thresholds | New patient: 99202 straightforward · 99203 low · 99204 moderate · 99205 high. Established: 99212 straightforward · 99213 low · 99214 moderate · 99215 high. MDM does not apply to 99211. | New: 99202 15-29 · 99203 30-44 · 99204 45-59 · 99205 60-74 min. Established: 99212 10-19 · 99213 20-29 · 99214 30-39 · 99215 40-54 min. These are the 2021 CPT descriptor ranges, still printed by CMS; AAFP publishes the same codes as single minimums (15/30/45/60 and 10/20/30/40). The floor is the same either way. |
| Inpatient thresholds | Initial: 99221 <strong>straightforward or low</strong> · 99222 moderate · 99223 high. Subsequent: 99231 <strong>straightforward or low</strong> · 99232 moderate · 99233 high. Note there is no straightforward-only subsequent code — one descriptor covers both. | Stated unambiguously as minimums that "must be met or exceeded". Initial: 99221 40 · 99222 55 · 99223 75 min. Subsequent: 99231 25 · 99232 35 · 99233 50 min. Same-day admit and discharge: 99234 45 · 99235 70 · 99236 85 min. |
| Prolonged services | <strong>Not available.</strong> CPT: 99417 and 99418 "are only used when the primary service has been selected using time alone as the basis." A high-MDM visit that ran long carries no add-on. This is the one place where the choice of basis has a direct payment consequence. | Available, in complete 15-minute units only. <strong>CPT:</strong> 99417 with 99215 from 55 min, with 99205 from 75 min; 99418 with 99233 from 65 min, with 99223 from 90 min. <strong>Medicare:</strong> substitutes G2212 (99215 at 69 min, 99205 at 89 min) and G0316 (99233 at 80 min, 99223 at 105 min) — consistently later, because CMS derives its thresholds from the maximum time of the primary service rather than the minimum. |
| Split or shared visits (facility settings, Medicare) | Since CY2024 this is a live option: CMS defines the "substantive portion" as more than half the total time <em>or</em> <strong>a substantive part of the medical decision making</strong>. Codified at 42 CFR 415.140 and unchanged by the CY2025 or CY2026 fee schedules. | Also available: more than half of the combined total time. Only <strong>distinct</strong> time may be summed — where two or more individuals jointly meet with or discuss the patient, only one individual's time is counted. For <strong>critical care</strong>, MDM is not an option: substantive portion means more than half the total time. Append modifier <strong>FS</strong>. |
| Crossing midnight | Not applicable. | Total time is by calendar date, but a continuous service spanning two calendar dates is a single service reported on one date; if continuous before and through midnight, all the time may be applied to the reported date. |
| Interaction with separately reported services | A test whose professional component you report separately is not counted as a data element ordered, reviewed, analyzed or independently interpreted. | Time spent performing separately reported services does not count — nor does travel, nor teaching that is general and not limited to this patient's management. |
| History and examination | Not a factor. Since 1 January 2021 CPT states that "the extent of history and physical examination is not an element in selection of the level of these E/M service codes." A comprehensive ROS cannot raise the level, and a brief note cannot lower it. | Same — though the time actually spent performing a medically appropriate examination does count toward the total. |
| When it is the better basis | Most visits. Short, decision-dense encounters: the specialist who resolves a complex problem in twelve minutes is paid for the thinking, not the clock. | Long, counselling-heavy or coordination-heavy encounters where the decision making stayed simple — goals-of-care conversations, complex education, extensive care coordination on the day. |
| Where it goes wrong | Copy-forward problem lists; counting an ordered test twice when the result returns; asserting severity instead of showing change from baseline. | No documented total; counting work from a different calendar date; including separately reported procedures or travel; doubling jointly spent time. |
| Emergency department | The only basis available. | Not permitted — time cannot be used to select the level of service for emergency department visits. |
Common questions
Common questions about Medical decision making vs Total time
Can I combine MDM and time to reach a higher level?
+
No. CPT frames them as alternatives joined by "or": select the level based on the level of MDM, or on the total time on the date of the encounter. A visit with moderate MDM and 38 minutes is a 99214 either way; a visit with moderate MDM and 41 minutes is a 99215 on time alone, not because the minutes reinforced the MDM. Pick the basis that supports the level and document that basis. Trying to blend them is the fastest way to produce a note that supports neither.
Which basis should I default to?
+
MDM, for most clinicians and most encounters. It usually reflects the work more accurately, it does not require you to track a clock, and it is the only basis available in the emergency department. Time is the better answer for a specific and recognisable minority of visits: long goals-of-care discussions, extensive counselling, or days with heavy care coordination, where the thinking was not complex but the work genuinely took an hour. The practical rule is to code by MDM by default and switch to time only when you have both the minutes and a documented total.
If I level by MDM, do I need to document the time at all?
+
Not for code selection. CPT requires the total time to be documented when it is used as the basis for code selection — the obligation attaches to the basis you rely on. Many practices record time habitually anyway, which is harmless and occasionally useful as a fallback. What causes trouble is a recorded time that is inconsistent with the rest of the note, because an auditor will read it even though you were not relying on it.
Why can I only bill prolonged services when I used time?
+
Because the prolonged codes measure time beyond the time required for the highest-level primary service, so they only have a coherent starting point if the primary service was itself levelled on time. CPT states this directly: 99417 and 99418 are only used when the primary service has been selected using time alone, and only after the time required for the highest-level service has been exceeded by 15 minutes. This is the one place where the choice of basis has a real financial consequence, and it is the reason a genuinely long, high-MDM visit is sometimes better levelled on time.
When does an independent historian give me credit?
+
CPT defines an independent historian as someone such as a parent, guardian, surrogate, spouse or witness "who provides a history in addition to a history provided by the patient who is unable to provide a complete or reliable history (eg, due to developmental stage, dementia, or psychosis) or because a confirmatory history is judged to be necessary." Two details are routinely missed. First, CPT states explicitly that it "does not include translation services" — an interpreter is not an independent historian. Second, there must be a documented reason: as AAFP puts it, a patient's preference that a spouse give the history rather than the patient does not add a data point. Noridian asks you to record why the patient cannot provide a complete or reliable history, and from whom the additional history came. The history need not be obtained in person but must come directly from the historian. It counts as one Category 1 element and can be summed with tests ordered and notes reviewed.
What exactly counts toward total time?
+
CPT gives a closed list: preparing to see the patient, such as reviewing tests; obtaining and reviewing separately obtained history; performing a medically appropriate examination and/or evaluation; counselling and educating the patient, family or caregiver; ordering medications, tests or procedures; referring to and communicating with other health care professionals when not separately reported; documenting clinical information in the record; independently interpreting results not separately reported and communicating them; and care coordination not separately reported. It excludes the performance of other services that are reported separately, travel, and teaching that is general and not limited to discussion required for the management of this specific patient.
Two of us shared the visit. Whose time counts, and can we use MDM instead?
+
On time, only distinct time may be summed: CPT provides that where two or more individuals jointly meet with or discuss the patient, only the time of one individual should be counted, so a twenty-minute joint discussion contributes twenty minutes, not forty. On the Medicare side the picture changed for the better in CY2024 and many practices have not caught up. After several years of deferring a time-only rule, CMS settled on a definition aligned with CPT: for split or shared visits in facility settings the "substantive portion" means more than half of the total time spent by the physician and non-physician practitioner, or a substantive part of the medical decision making. That is now codified at 42 CFR 415.140 and was left untouched by both the CY2025 and CY2026 fee schedules. Critical care is the exception — MDM is not available there, so substantive portion means more than half the total time. Append modifier FS.
Does the resident's time count when I am the teaching physician?
+
Only the teaching physician's own time counts. The Medicare Claims Processing Manual is explicit that you do not add time spent by the resident in the absence of the teaching physician, and that for visit-level selection you count only time the teaching physician spent performing qualifying activities — importantly, this does include time the teaching physician is present while the resident performs those activities. CPT separately excludes teaching that is general and not limited to the management of this specific patient. Under the primary care exception, time cannot be used at all and MDM is the only permitted basis. Where a resident is involved, MDM is often the safer basis anyway, because it scores the decision making the teaching physician actually made rather than requiring minutes to be attributed between two people.
Are the office-visit times ranges or minimums?
+
You will see both, and the difference is real rather than a rounding of the same fact. The 2021 CPT descriptors for 99202-99215 state ranges — 99213 as "20-29 minutes," 99215 as "40-54 minutes" — and CMS still prints those ranges in its current Evaluation and Management MLN booklet and in Chapter 12 of the Claims Processing Manual. The families revised in 2023, meaning inpatient, consultations, nursing facility and home, use single minimums phrased as "must be met or exceeded," and AAFP now publishes the office codes in that same minimum form. For selecting a level nothing turns on it, because the floor is identical under both readings. It matters in exactly one place: CMS derives the G2212 prolonged-services threshold from the range maximum, which is why Medicare's prolonged thresholds sit 14 minutes above CPT's.








