Direct comparison
Benchling Pricing vs LabArchives, SciNote
Benchling has no public pricing; LabArchives lists per-seat rates ($330-575/yr); SciNote offers a free tier. Compare ELN vendor pricing models.
Written and maintained by CASRAI Editorial Board
Last updated
Ask CASRAI · free to try
Ask about Benchling Pricing vs LabArchives, SciNote
Ask your first 2 questions free below. Subscribers get 150 a day for $29 a month.
An AI assistant specialized in research administration. It cites the sources behind every answer, labels web answers and says when it can't answer.
Answers draw on CASRAI's guides and dictionary plus the federal and funder documents we index: Federal Register, Grants.gov, Regulations.gov and UKRI.
Works on this site and inside Claude, Cursor and the AI tools you already use.
Everything CASRAI publishes — this page, the dictionary, the guides and the news — stays free to read, with no account and no card.
How do Benchling, LabArchives, SciNote compare side by side?
The table below compares Benchling, LabArchives, SciNote across 7 procurement-relevant dimensions, from public pricing tiers through validated/gxp deployment pricing.
Side-by-side comparison
| Dimension | Benchling | LabArchives | SciNote |
|---|---|---|---|
| Public pricing tiers | No — custom quote only | Yes — listed per-seat rates | Partial — free tier listed, paid plans quoted |
| Free tier | No public free tier | Yes (2 notebooks, 1GB storage) | Yes, full free tier for individual users |
| Entry-level paid price (public) | Not disclosed | $330/user/yr academic, $575/user/yr corporate | Not disclosed (contact sales) |
| Academic vs. corporate rate split | No — single custom-quote model | Yes, explicit dual pricing | Not publicly specified |
| Bundled inventory/sample management | Yes, as separate module (Inventory), quoted together or separately | Yes, as add-on bundle ($360-675/user/yr) or standalone ($99-199/user/yr) | Available; pricing via sales |
| Primary target buyer | Enterprise biotech, pharma, industry R&D | Academic institutions, government, nonprofits (with a corporate tier) | Academic labs and mid-size industry/compliance-oriented labs |
| Validated/GxP deployment pricing | Available as a priced platform upgrade, quote-based | Enterprise tier, custom quote | Available on compliance-oriented plans, quote-based |
Common questions
Common questions about Benchling vs LabArchives vs SciNote
Why doesn't Benchling show its prices online?
+
Benchling bundles pricing around a customer's specific product mix (Notebook, Registry, Inventory, Workflows, LIMS), seat count, integrations, and optional validation/implementation support, so it prices each contract individually through its sales team rather than publishing flat tiers.
How much does LabArchives cost per user?
+
LabArchives' core ELN for Research runs $330/user/year for academic institutions or $575/user/year for corporate buyers, with a free tier (2 notebooks, 1GB storage) and an ELN+Inventory bundle at $360-675/user/year. Enterprise deployments are custom-quoted.
Is SciNote actually free?
+
SciNote offers a genuine free tier for individual users with no time limit. Team, lab-wide, and compliance-oriented "Premium" plans are not free and require contacting SciNote sales for a quote.
Can I get an accurate Benchling cost estimate without contacting sales?
+
Not from Benchling's own site — there are no public tiers or per-seat figures. Any dollar figure you see cited for Benchling on a third-party site or forum is unverified and should not be used for budget planning; request a current quote directly from Benchling.







