Written and maintained by CASRAI Editorial Board
Last updated
A Beyer rongeur is a hand-operated bone-biting instrument. One federal device record describes a curved Beyer pattern 7 in (178 mm) long with a 3 mm jaw width. Clinic staff, buyers and students searching for it mostly need to read a catalog line correctly and know how the device is regulated. This page describes products in general terms; it is not medical advice.
What a Beyer rongeur is
“Beyer” names a pattern of rongeur, the family of instruments that bite or cut bone. In US regulation a manual rongeur is “a manually operated instrument used for cutting or biting bone during surgery involving the skull or spinal column” (21 CFR 882.4840). Surgeons and operating-room staff use it; buyers and sterile-processing teams handle it. For sibling patterns see the bone rongeur guide, the Kerrison rongeur, the Lempert rongeur and the Leksell rongeur.
How is a Beyer rongeur built?
A rongeur is a forceps-style instrument: squeezing the handles closes sharp-edged jaws that bite bone. The federal device vocabulary (GMDN term in the AccessGUDID record) describes this type of instrument as having sharp-edged, scoop-shaped jaws on sprung handles that close the jaws when squeezed together. Catalog listings describe a Beyer pattern by its jaw shape (curved or straight) and its action (single or double), so the word “Beyer” alone does not fix either detail.
What sizes does a Beyer rongeur come in?
The table shows the one regulator-database record checked for this page. Sizes vary by maker, so a different maker’s listing may show other lengths or jaw widths.
| Specification | Symmetry Beyer, AccessGUDID record |
|---|---|
| Description | Rongeur, Beyer, curved |
| Overall length | 7 in (178 mm) |
| Jaw width | 3 mm |
| Action | Not stated in the record |
| Supplier and catalog number | Aspen Surgical Products, Inc.; 31-1103 |
The intended-use statement belongs to each product, not to the pattern name, so read the manufacturer’s labeling for every listing.
What FDA class is a Beyer rongeur?
A manual rongeur is Class II (performance standards) under 21 CFR 882.4840; a powered rongeur is covered separately in 21 CFR 882.4845, also Class II. The Symmetry Beyer record carries FDA product code HTX (Rongeur). The same record is marked premarket exempt, prescription use and reusable (not single use). These are labeling facts for that one product, not for every Beyer rongeur.
How do you read a Beyer listing?
- Length is overall instrument length, for example 7 in (178 mm).
- Jaw width is the bite width in millimetres, for example 3 mm.
- Curved or straight describes the jaw and shank shape.
- Single or double action describes the hinge mechanism of the jaws.
- Intended use should match the manufacturer’s labeling.
Handling and related instruments
Follow the manufacturer’s instructions for use for care and reprocessing. Rongeurs are for trained clinicians; this page gives no procedure steps. Related instrument groups are covered in the orthopedic surgical instruments and neurosurgical instruments guides, and the forceps category lists related instruments.
Common mistakes
- Assuming every “Beyer” listing has the same length, jaw width or action; makers differ.
- Applying one product’s labeling facts to a different maker’s rongeur.
FAQ
What size is a Beyer rongeur?
The AccessGUDID record for the Symmetry Beyer lists 7 in (178 mm) length and 3 mm width. Other makers may list different sizes.
What FDA class is a manual rongeur?
Class II (performance standards) under 21 CFR 882.4840.
Is a Beyer rongeur single or double action?
The Symmetry Beyer record does not state it; check each product listing.
Sources
- eCFR, 21 CFR 882.4840, manual rongeur: https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/section-882.4840 (checked 2026-10-31)
- eCFR, 21 CFR 882.4845, powered rongeur: https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/section-882.4845 (checked 2026-10-31)
- NLM AccessGUDID, Symmetry Beyer, DI 00887482036600: https://accessgudid.nlm.nih.gov/devices/00887482036600 (checked 2026-10-31)







