Skip to main content
v2026.11,858 entries · CC-BY 4.0

Polyglyconate Suture (Maxon): Composition, Uses and How It Compares With PDS

What polyglyconate (Maxon) is, how it differs from PDS II polydioxanone, with a sourced comparison table of composition, absorption and labeled limits.

Written and maintained by CASRAI Editorial Board

Last updated

Polyglyconate is the generic name of the material in Maxon absorbable sutures: a copolymer of glycolic acid and trimethylene carbonate that the manufacturer lists as a monofilament, uncoated, green-or-clear suture with a 180-day absorption profile. PDS II is a different material, polydioxanone, with a listed absorption rate of 182-238 days. This page puts the two manufacturer descriptions side by side so a buyer, clinic staff member or student can tell which name means which material.

This page describes products and general use; it is not medical advice.

What polyglyconate is

Polyglyconate is a synthetic absorbable suture material. Medtronic (Covidien) describes its Maxon suture as “Polyglyconate Copolymer of Glycolic Acid and Trimethylene Carbonate” and lists it as an absorbable suture for general soft tissue approximation and/or ligation. An absorbable suture is one the body gradually breaks down, so it does not need to be removed; see our guide to what a suture is and the comparison of absorbable and non-absorbable sutures for the wider picture.

Who uses it: surgeons and surgical teams choose it; clinic staff, central supply and procurement teams handle and stock it; students meet it in surgical-materials courses.

How it is built

The Maxon listing gives these construction details: the material is polyglyconate, the suture is a monofilament (a single strand rather than a braid), it is uncoated, and it comes in green and clear. A monofilament differs from the braided sutures sold as a separate category, which are made of several twisted or woven strands.

Polyglyconate (Maxon) versus polydioxanone (PDS II)

The table uses only what each manufacturer’s own product page states. Where a cell says a property is not stated, that means the manufacturer’s page does not list it, not that the property is absent.

Item Maxon (polyglyconate) PDS II (polydioxanone)
Material Copolymer of glycolic acid and trimethylene carbonate Polydioxanone
Absorbable Yes (synthetic, absorbable) Yes
Absorption figure listed 180 days 182-238 days
Construction Monofilament, uncoated Not stated on the catalog page
Color Green, clear Violet (listed example)
Not indicated or not established Not indicated for adult cardiovascular tissue, ophthalmic surgery, microsurgery and neural tissue Safety and effectiveness not established in neural tissue, adult cardiovascular tissue or for use in microsurgery

Sources: Medtronic Maxon product page and Ethicon PDS II catalog entry D10063, both checked 2026-10-30. Both pages state limits on adult cardiovascular tissue, microsurgery and neural tissue; the Maxon page also lists ophthalmic surgery.

Sizes

The Maxon page lists sizes 7-0 to 1. The PDS II catalog entry cited here is one listing, code D10063: size 5-0, 18 in long, violet, with a TF taper-point needle 13 mm long. It is one catalog item, not the full PDS II size range.

Labeled uses and limits

Maxon is indicated for use as an absorbable suture in general soft tissue approximation and/or ligation, including pediatric cardiovascular tissue where growth is expected and peripheral vascular surgery. The listing gives a tensile strength figure of 6 weeks. It lists contraindications including known sensitivity or allergy to the suture’s components, use where extended tissue approximation is needed, and fixation of permanent cardiovascular prostheses or synthetic grafts. The PDS II entry points to its package insert for indications, so this page does not restate them.

Safe handling basics

  • The PDS II entry says: do not resterilize; discard open packages and unused sutures; do not use after the expiration date.
  • Follow the instructions for use supplied with the exact product and size; a catalog page is not a substitute for them.
  • Sterile supplies are handled differently from non-sterile ones; see sterile versus non-sterile classification.

Common mistakes

  • Treating “PDS” and “Maxon” as the same material. PDS II is polydioxanone; Maxon is polyglyconate.
  • Assuming the two have the same absorption figure. The listed figures differ (180 days versus 182-238 days), and each is the manufacturer’s own number.
  • Reading a single catalog listing as the full size range.
  • Resterilizing or reusing an opened package.

FAQ

What is PDS suture?

PDS II is Ethicon’s absorbable suture made of polydioxanone, listed with an absorption rate of 182-238 days.

What is PDS suture made of?

Polydioxanone, per the Ethicon catalog entry D10063.

What are PDS suture uses?

The catalog entry refers readers to the package insert for indications. It states that safety and effectiveness have not been established in neural tissue, adult cardiovascular tissue or microsurgery.

What are PDS suture sizes?

The Ethicon catalog entry lists size 5-0 (18 in, violet). The full range is in the manufacturer’s product documentation.

What is Maxon suture?

Maxon is Medtronic’s (Covidien) monofilament absorbable suture made of polyglyconate, a copolymer of glycolic acid and trimethylene carbonate.

What are Maxon suture uses and sizes?

It is indicated for general soft tissue approximation and/or ligation, in sizes 7-0 to 1, and is not indicated for adult cardiovascular tissue, ophthalmic surgery, microsurgery or neural tissue.

Sources

  • Medtronic (Covidien), Maxon monofilament absorbable sutures, product page: https://medtronic.com/covidien/en-za/products/wound-closure/absorbable-sutures/maxon-monofilament-absorbable-sutures.html (checked 2026-10-30).
  • Ethicon, PDS II (polydioxanone) suture, catalog code D10063: https://www.ethicon.com/na/node/28166 (checked 2026-10-30).

Follow CASRAI

Research-administration guidance, standards updates and independent tool reviews.

Ask CASRAI · free to try

Ask about Polyglyconate Suture (Maxon): Composition, Uses and How It Compares With PDS

Ask your first 2 questions free below. Subscribers get 150 a day for $29 a month.

An AI assistant specialized in research administration. It cites the sources behind every answer, labels web answers and says when it can't answer.

Answers draw on CASRAI's guides and dictionary plus the federal and funder documents we index: Federal Register, Grants.gov, Regulations.gov and UKRI.

Works on this site and inside Claude, Cursor and the AI tools you already use.

Everything CASRAI publishes — this page, the dictionary, the guides and the news — stays free to read, with no account and no card.

Referenced across the research world

University of Cambridge logoColumbia University logoCrossref logoUniversity of Edinburgh logoHarvard University logoUniversity of Oxford logoPrinceton University logoStanford School of Medicine logoUniversity College London logoORCID logoUniversity of Cambridge logoColumbia University logoCrossref logoUniversity of Edinburgh logoHarvard University logoUniversity of Oxford logoPrinceton University logoStanford School of Medicine logoUniversity College London logoORCID logo
  • University of Cambridge logo
  • Columbia University logo
  • Crossref logo
  • University of Edinburgh logo
  • Harvard University logo
  • University of Oxford logo
  • Princeton University logo
  • Stanford School of Medicine logo
  • University College London logo
  • ORCID logo

View CASRAI adoption →

Ask CASRAI · Regulatory Radar

Research-admin question? Get an answer that links its sources.

An AI assistant specialized in research administration. Every answer links its sources to check before you act. 2 questions free, no account. $29/month after.

  • Answers draw on CASRAI's guides and dictionary plus the federal and funder documents we index: Federal Register, Grants.gov, Regulations.gov and UKRI.
  • Every answer numbers its sources and links each one, so you can check the source yourself.