Skip to main content
v2026.11,858 entries · CC-BY 4.0

HPLC-Grade Water: What the Label Specs Mean

HPLC-grade water is a supplier specification, not a single standard. Compare two real spec tables and use a checklist for residue, UV and filtration.

Written and maintained by CASRAI Editorial Board

Last updated

HPLC-grade water is bottled water sold under a supplier’s own specification, not a single published standard. The label usually points to a short list of limits (residue after evaporation, UV absorbance and a filtration step), and those limits differ from one supplier to the next. Read the specification table for the exact bottle in use.

Short answer

“HPLC grade” on a water bottle is a supplier specification. Two product pages, one from Lab Alley and one for J.T. Baker 4218-03, both carry the label, yet they list different residue limits, different filter sizes and measure UV absorbance in different ways. Neither page defines the term by reference to a pharmacopoeia or ASTM method, so the useful question is not “is it HPLC grade?” but “which limits does this bottle’s sheet actually state?”

Definition and scope

In liquid chromatography, water is usually a large share of the mobile phase and is used for rinsing and sample preparation, so impurities in it can show up as baseline noise, ghost peaks or particulate that reaches the column. Bottled HPLC-grade water is sold as a ready-to-use alternative to water produced in house by a purification system. The grades that are defined in standards (Type I, II and III reagent water) are covered in the laboratory water grades guide; this page only covers what the HPLC-grade label tells you on a purchased bottle.

How the label is used in practice

Bottled HPLC-grade water is used where a lab has no purification system, where a method calls for a labelled solvent, or as a reference blank. For the chromatography itself, see the HPLC guide. Because the term has no single definition, each supplier publishes its own table. The sections below compare two of them directly.

Two supplier specifications compared

The table lists only values printed on the two product pages, checked on 2026-10-29. A blank means the page does not state that item.

Item Lab Alley “Water, HPLC Grade” J.T. Baker 4218-03 “Water, HPLC Grade”
Residue after evaporation Max 1 ppm <= 2.0 ppm
Assay Min 99.5% Not stated on the page
Substances reducing permanganate To pass test Not stated on the page
UV absorbance Limits at fixed wavelengths: 0.01 max. at 190, 200 and 210 nm; 0.005 max at 250 nm and at 300-400 nm (no unit printed) Gradient-elution test: largest peak at 254 nm, <= 0.0010 au (a 205 nm gradient-elution entry is also listed, with no limit shown)
Filtration 0.22 micron filter 0.2 micron filter; the listing also shows a filtration test that passes
Total organic carbon / conductivity Page quotes ASTM Type I values (<50 ppb TOC, <0.056 µS/cm) in its description No TOC or conductivity entry on the page

Three differences matter. First, the residue limit is not the same (1 ppm versus 2.0 ppm). Second, the filter size is stated as 0.22 versus 0.2 micron. Third, and most important, the two UV entries are not interchangeable: one is a set of absorbance limits across wavelengths, the other is the largest peak seen when the water is run as a gradient elution at a stated wavelength. The Baker listing also includes a fluorescence trace-impurity test measured as quinine base, which the Lab Alley table does not.

Checklist: what to read on a specification sheet

This is a reading checklist built from the two tables above, not purchasing advice.

  • Residue after evaporation. Is a limit stated, and in what unit?
  • How UV is expressed. Fixed-wavelength absorbance limits and a gradient-elution peak test describe different measurements. Check the wavelengths against the detector wavelength used in your method.
  • Filter size. The two pages state 0.22 and 0.2 micron; check which is printed.
  • TOC and conductivity. Present on one page only (as a quoted ASTM Type I figure), absent on the other. If a method needs them, confirm they are stated for the product itself.
  • Units and test conditions. A limit with no unit or method (as with the UV values on one page) is harder to compare.
  • Storage. The Lab Alley page gives no temperature and refers readers to the storage section of the Safety Data Sheet.

HPLC grade versus in-house Type I water

Type I reagent water is defined by standards, with conductivity and TOC limits; the Lab Alley page quotes the ASTM Type I figures of under 50 ppb TOC and under 0.056 µS/cm. A purification system produces that water on site and displays its resistivity or conductivity as it runs. The guide on laboratory water purification systems and the purification system comparison cover that route, and the maintenance guide covers keeping such a system’s output consistent. Bottled HPLC-grade water and Type I water are not the same thing by definition: one is a supplier’s list of limits, the other is a standard’s.

Common misunderstandings

“HPLC grade means a defined standard.”

Neither of the two pages cites a pharmacopoeial or ASTM definition of “HPLC grade water”. The label is a supplier’s, and its limits are whatever that supplier prints.

“All HPLC-grade bottles have the same limits.”

The comparison above shows different residue limits, different filter sizes and different UV test designs under the same label.

“Filtered means free of everything.”

The pages state a 0.22 or 0.2 micron filtration step to remove particulate matter. Filtration is a particle control; it is listed separately from the residue and UV limits, which address dissolved impurities.

“The water stays at specification once opened.”

The two pages give no shelf-life or opened-bottle claim, and the Lab Alley page points to the Safety Data Sheet for storage. Treat the table as describing the product as packed.

Where it matters for labs and supply decisions

For method documentation, record the supplier, product code and the specification entries relied on, since “HPLC grade” alone does not identify a set of limits. System upkeep that affects baseline, such as the items in the HPLC preventive maintenance schedule, is a separate issue from water quality, and vial and septa compatibility is covered in the vials and septa guide.

FAQ

What is HPLC-grade water?

Water sold under a supplier’s own “HPLC grade” specification, typically listing residue after evaporation, UV absorbance and filtration limits. The two supplier pages cited here do not tie it to a pharmacopoeial or ASTM definition.

Is HPLC-grade water the same as Type I water?

No. Type I is a standards-defined reagent water grade; HPLC grade is a supplier label. One supplier page quotes Type I values (<50 ppb TOC, <0.056 µS/cm) alongside its HPLC-grade table, while another lists no TOC or conductivity entry.

What do the UV absorbance entries mean?

They limit how much a water sample absorbs UV light, which matters for UV detection. One page lists absorbance limits at fixed wavelengths from 190 to 400 nm; the other lists a gradient-elution test at 254 nm with a limit of 0.0010 au.

Is the water filtered?

Both pages state filtration, 0.22 micron on one and 0.2 micron on the other.

Sources

Follow CASRAI

Research-administration guidance, standards updates and independent tool reviews.

Ask CASRAI · free to try

Ask about HPLC-Grade Water: What the Label Specs Mean

Ask your first 2 questions free below. Subscribers get 150 a day for $29 a month.

An AI assistant specialized in research administration. It cites the sources behind every answer, labels web answers and says when it can't answer.

Answers draw on CASRAI's guides and dictionary plus the federal and funder documents we index: Federal Register, Grants.gov, Regulations.gov and UKRI.

Works on this site and inside Claude, Cursor and the AI tools you already use.

Everything CASRAI publishes — this page, the dictionary, the guides and the news — stays free to read, with no account and no card.

Referenced across the research world

University of Cambridge logoColumbia University logoCrossref logoUniversity of Edinburgh logoHarvard University logoUniversity of Oxford logoPrinceton University logoStanford School of Medicine logoUniversity College London logoORCID logoUniversity of Cambridge logoColumbia University logoCrossref logoUniversity of Edinburgh logoHarvard University logoUniversity of Oxford logoPrinceton University logoStanford School of Medicine logoUniversity College London logoORCID logo
  • University of Cambridge logo
  • Columbia University logo
  • Crossref logo
  • University of Edinburgh logo
  • Harvard University logo
  • University of Oxford logo
  • Princeton University logo
  • Stanford School of Medicine logo
  • University College London logo
  • ORCID logo

View CASRAI adoption →

Ask CASRAI · Regulatory Radar

Research-admin question? Get an answer that links its sources.

An AI assistant specialized in research administration. Every answer links its sources to check before you act. 2 questions free, no account. $29/month after.

  • Answers draw on CASRAI's guides and dictionary plus the federal and funder documents we index: Federal Register, Grants.gov, Regulations.gov and UKRI.
  • Every answer numbers its sources and links each one, so you can check the source yourself.