Skip to main content
v2026.11,858 entries · CC-BY 4.0
LAC HealthMedical Supply Distributor100,000+ medical supplies. 48-hour critical dispatch.Ships from 8 regional U.S. hubs. Net-30 terms for verified institutional accounts.Shop lac.us CodeCASRAIlac.us

What Is Monocryl Suture Made Of? Poliglecaprone 25

Monocryl is a synthetic absorbable monofilament of poliglecaprone 25. Variants, FDA records, sizes and absorption figures from Ethicon sheets.

Written and maintained by CASRAI Editorial Board

Last updated

This page describes products and general use; it is not medical advice.

Short answer: Monocryl suture is made of poliglecaprone 25, a synthetic copolymer of glycolide and epsilon-caprolactone, supplied as a single strand (a monofilament). It is not gut and not braided. This page is for clinic staff, buyers and students who need to identify the product and tell the name variants apart.

What Monocryl suture is made of

Ethicon’s MONOCRYL Plus catalogue gives the material as poliglecaprone 25, a copolymer of glycolide and epsilon-caprolactone. The catalogue and Ethicon’s MONOCRYL product sheet describe it as a synthetic, absorbable monofilament, and the sheet states that it is absorbed by hydrolysis.

The US FDA’s AccessGUDID record for the MONOCRYL brand (Ethicon, LLC; public version date 2026-03-31; checked 2026-10-30) describes it as a “Violet Monofilament (Poliglecaprone 25), Absorbable Surgical Suture” that is sterile, single-use and prescription-only.

How it is built: monofilament, dyed or undyed

Monocryl is a single strand rather than several braided fibres. Ethicon supplies it dyed violet or undyed (the catalogue calls undyed “beige”). The manufacturer sheets give slightly different strength-retention figures for each colour, shown below. It is supplied as needled sutures and as ligatures.

Monocryl, Monocryl Plus and Stratafix: types and variants

“Monocryl” is a brand name, so searches for what Monocryl suture is, or for Monocryl Plus, lead to a small family of FDA-cleared products.

Name What the source says FDA record
MONOCRYL (poliglecaprone 25), dyed and undyed Monofilament absorbable suture, violet or undyed (Ethicon product sheet) K960653 (decided 1996-03-28, dyed) and K964072 (decided 1996-12-18, undyed); Ethicon, Inc.; product code GAN
MONOCRYL Plus antibacterial Monocryl with IRGACARE MP (triclosan); Ethicon lists in vitro activity against S. aureus, S. epidermidis, MRSA, MRSE, E. coli and K. pneumoniae (manufacturer claim) K050845, decided 2005-06-29; Ethicon, Inc.; the record lists product code GAM
STRATAFIX Spiral MONOCRYL (Plus) knotless A knotless tissue control device in the Monocryl family K151200 (2015-08-13) and K221744 (2022-11-15)

Source: openFDA 510(k) records, checked 2026-10-30. For product code GAN, openFDA lists the device name “Suture, Absorbable, Synthetic” as class 2 and an implant. The CFR section openFDA attaches to that code concerns absorbable surgical gut suture, so this page does not use it to describe the material.

Monocryl suture sizes and specifications that matter

The two Ethicon documents give slightly different figures. They are shown side by side rather than merged, and the numbers are the manufacturer’s approximations.

Specification Ethicon MONOCRYL product sheet Ethicon MONOCRYL Plus catalogue
Size range 6-0 to 1 (USP) 2 through 6/0
Strength remaining at 7 days About 60% violet, 50% undyed 60-70% dyed, 50-60% undyed (at 1 week)
Strength remaining at 14 days About 30% violet, 20% undyed 30-40% dyed, 20-30% undyed (at 2 weeks)
Strength at 21 or 28 days 0% undyed at 21 days; 0% violet at 28 days Not tabulated
Absorption Essentially complete in 90-120 days Completely absorbed in 91-119 days
Wound support Not stated Medium term (3-4 weeks)
Lengths shown Not stated 45, 70 and 90 cm

Sources: Ethicon MONOCRYL product sheet and Ethicon MONOCRYL Plus catalogue (both checked 2026-10-30). Needle types vary by catalogue number; the catalogue holds the full matrix.

Monocryl suture uses, per the manufacturer

Ethicon’s product sheet states that Monocryl is intended for general soft tissue approximation and/or ligation where an absorbable material is indicated. It names subcuticular sutures, small intestine anastomoses and urological anastomoses as typical areas, and adds that full details are in the Instructions for Use included in every package. This page does not give procedure steps; the IFU governs use.

Choosing between names: what the sources support

  • The Plus version is the one Ethicon describes as containing triclosan (IRGACARE MP).
  • Colour (violet or undyed) changes the strength-retention figures on the sheets, so compare like with like.
  • The IFU in each package, not a catalogue, states indications and warnings.

Safe handling basics

FDA’s AccessGUDID record lists the device as sterile, single use and prescription-only, and not a kit. Storage, handling and disposal details are in the IFU supplied with the product.

Common mistakes

  • Calling Monocryl gut or braided. It is a synthetic monofilament. For gut, see what chromic gut suture is made of; for another synthetic monofilament, see polyglyconate.
  • Quoting one absorption number. The two Ethicon documents give 90-120 and 91-119 days.
  • Treating Monocryl and Monocryl Plus as the same product. Plus adds triclosan and has its own 510(k).

For the wider picture, read what a suture is and the absorbable versus non-absorbable sutures comparison. Buyers comparing constructions can also browse braided sutures, a different construction from Monocryl.

FAQ

What is Monocryl suture made of?

Poliglecaprone 25, a copolymer of glycolide and epsilon-caprolactone, as a monofilament (Ethicon MONOCRYL Plus catalogue, checked 2026-10-30).

Is Monocryl absorbable?

Yes. Ethicon’s sheets say it absorbs by hydrolysis, essentially complete in 90-120 days (product sheet) or 91-119 days (catalogue).

What sizes does Monocryl suture come in?

Ethicon’s product sheet gives 6-0 to 1 (USP) for Monocryl; the Monocryl Plus catalogue gives 2 through 6/0, in lengths of 45, 70 and 90 cm. Needle types vary by catalogue number.

What is Monocryl suture used for?

Ethicon’s product sheet states it is intended for general soft tissue approximation and/or ligation where an absorbable material is indicated; the Instructions for Use in each package govern use.

What is Monocryl Plus?

Monocryl with IRGACARE MP (triclosan), cleared by FDA under K050845 in 2005.

Sources

All links checked 2026-10-30.

  • openFDA device classification, product code GAN: https://api.fda.gov/device/classification.json?search=product_code:GAN
  • openFDA 510(k) records for Monocryl: https://api.fda.gov/device/510k.json?search=device_name:monocryl
  • FDA AccessGUDID via openFDA UDI, brand MONOCRYL: https://api.fda.gov/device/udi.json?search=brand_name:monocryl
  • Ethicon MONOCRYL product sheet: https://res.onemed.com/SE/Produktblad/415830.pdf
  • Ethicon MONOCRYL Plus catalogue: https://www.eboshealthcare.com.au/globalassets/ebos-au/microsites/jj-ethicon/monocryl-plus-catalogue.pdf

Follow CASRAI

Research-administration guidance, standards updates and independent tool reviews.

Ask CASRAI · free to try

Ask about What Is Monocryl Suture Made Of? Poliglecaprone 25

Ask your first 2 questions free below. Subscribers get 150 a day for $29 a month.

An AI assistant specialized in research administration. It cites the sources behind every answer, labels web answers and says when it can't answer.

Answers draw on CASRAI's guides and dictionary plus the federal and funder documents we index: Federal Register, Grants.gov, Regulations.gov and UKRI.

Works on this site and inside Claude, Cursor and the AI tools you already use.

Everything CASRAI publishes — this page, the dictionary, the guides and the news — stays free to read, with no account and no card.

Referenced across the research world

University of Cambridge logoColumbia University logoCrossref logoUniversity of Edinburgh logoHarvard University logoUniversity of Oxford logoPrinceton University logoStanford School of Medicine logoUniversity College London logoORCID logoUniversity of Cambridge logoColumbia University logoCrossref logoUniversity of Edinburgh logoHarvard University logoUniversity of Oxford logoPrinceton University logoStanford School of Medicine logoUniversity College London logoORCID logo
  • University of Cambridge logo
  • Columbia University logo
  • Crossref logo
  • University of Edinburgh logo
  • Harvard University logo
  • University of Oxford logo
  • Princeton University logo
  • Stanford School of Medicine logo
  • University College London logo
  • ORCID logo

View CASRAI adoption →