Skip to main content
v2026.11,610 entries · CC-BY 4.0

Direct comparison

SnapGene vs. Benchling: Which Fits Your Lab?

SnapGene is a per-seat cloning/plasmid design tool from $350/yr; Benchling is a quote-only cloud R&D platform for biotech teams. Compare pricing and fit.

Ask about SnapGene vs. Benchling: Which Fits Your Lab?

Answers are drawn from this comparison and the rest of the CASRAI corpus, with a link to every source.

Answers are AI-generated from CASRAI’s own published pages and can be wrong, so check the linked sources before relying on one; your question is logged without personal data — never sold, never used to train a third-party model — to show us what CASRAI is missing, so please do not type personal or confidential details. How we use this

How do SnapGene, Benchling compare side by side?

The table below compares SnapGene, Benchling across 9 procurement-relevant dimensions, from what it primarily is through primary target buyer.

Side-by-side comparison

DimensionSnapGeneBenchling
What it primarily isA standalone molecular biology application: DNA cloning simulation, plasmid design/visualization, primer design, and Sanger trace alignmentA cloud R&D platform (ELN + Registry + Inventory/LIMS) with a molecular biology module for sequence design, CRISPR guide design, primers, and alignments
Cloning simulation methods supportedRestriction enzyme, Gateway, Gibson Assembly, In-Fusion, PCR, TOPO, and Golden Gate cloning, with automatic documentation of the resulting constructSequence design and molecular biology tools within its platform; not marketed as a dedicated cloning-simulation engine the way SnapGene is
Public pricingYes — published named-user subscription tiers on snapgene.com/pricingNo — custom quote only through a sales team (confirmed on CASRAI's Benchling pricing comparison)
Individual academic price$350/user/year (academic subscription, 1 seat); $149/year for a student subscriptionNot disclosed — priced per contract based on product mix, seat count, and validation/implementation needs
Corporate/industry price$1,845/user/year (corporate subscription, 1 seat); scales to $18,450/year for 10 seatsNot disclosed — enterprise biotech/pharma deployments are individually quoted
Free optionSnapGene Viewer — free, view/annotate/share sequence files, but most editing and cloning-simulation functions are disabled without an active subscription; free course licenses available for students through instructorsNo public free tier for the core platform; an academic program exists but terms aren't published
DeploymentNative desktop application for Windows, Mac, and Linux, with online license managementCloud-native web platform, accessed through a browser rather than installed per machine
Scope beyond molecular biologyNone — purpose-built for cloning, plasmid design, and sequence analysis onlyBroad — electronic lab notebook, sample/biomolecule registry, inventory management, workflow automation, and an AI layer across the whole platform
Primary target buyerIndividual researchers, academic labs, and course instructors (iGEM teams and universities are cited users)Enterprise biotech, pharma, and industry R&D organizations, alongside academic and startup users

Common questions

Common questions about SnapGene vs Benchling

Is SnapGene free?

+

Only in Viewer mode — you can view, annotate, and share sequence files at no cost, but cloning simulation, primer design, and most editing functions require an active paid subscription (from $350/user/year academic, $149/year student) or a permanent license. Instructors can also issue students free course licenses.

How much does Benchling cost?

+

Benchling does not publish pricing. It sells its platform — which bundles the ELN, Registry, Inventory, and molecular biology tools — through a custom sales quote based on product mix, seat count, and whether validated/GxP deployment support is needed. There is no public per-seat figure to budget against without contacting sales.

Can SnapGene and Benchling be used together?

+

They serve different layers of a research workflow, so labs sometimes use both: SnapGene for cloning design and simulation, exported in standard formats (e.g., GenBank), with results then registered or tracked inside a broader system like Benchling's Registry or ELN. Whether that's worth the overlap and cost of running two tools depends on lab size and whether Benchling's own molecular biology module already covers what SnapGene is being used for.

Which is the better fit for an academic lab versus a biotech company?

+

SnapGene's published, per-seat academic pricing and single-purpose desktop tool are easier for an individual lab or PI to budget and adopt. Benchling's value is in unifying cloning/sequence design with an ELN, sample registry, and compliance-relevant validation support across a whole team or organization — which is why its buyer base skews toward funded biotech, pharma, and industry R&D groups rather than a single academic lab evaluating tools on its own budget.

Referenced across the research world

University of Cambridge logoColumbia University logoCrossref logoUniversity of Edinburgh logoHarvard University logoUniversity of Oxford logoPrinceton University logoStanford School of Medicine logoUniversity College London logoORCID logoUniversity of Cambridge logoColumbia University logoCrossref logoUniversity of Edinburgh logoHarvard University logoUniversity of Oxford logoPrinceton University logoStanford School of Medicine logoUniversity College London logoORCID logo
  • University of Cambridge logo
  • Columbia University logo
  • Crossref logo
  • University of Edinburgh logo
  • Harvard University logo
  • University of Oxford logo
  • Princeton University logo
  • Stanford School of Medicine logo
  • University College London logo
  • ORCID logo

View CASRAI adoption →

Regulatory Radar

Stop finding out after the fact

$29/month, cancel anytime. Daily digest updates from our analysis, a dashboard holding the same items, and a cited assistant for everything they raise.

  • Federal Register, Federal Register+, Grants.gov, Regulations.gov, NSF News, UKRI, plus CASRAI’s own published content.
  • 44,322 indexed passages, and every answer cites the ones it drew on.