Written and maintained by CASRAI Editorial Board
Last updated
There is no universal length for a research proposal. The limit is set by whoever receives it: the department, graduate school or funding scheme. Published university guidance ranges from a few hundred words to about 5,000, and the same university can ask for 250 to 350 words in one programme and around 4,000 in another. The reliable answer to “how long should a research proposal be?” is the number printed in your own programme or call instructions.
Ask CASRAI · free to try
Ask about this guide — your first 2 questions are free.
Suggested question: “Is a PhD research proposal longer than a master’s proposal?”
Short answer: it depends on who is asking
Three things decide the length you should write to:
- The programme or scheme. Each department or funder sets its own limit, and a limit stated in the call overrides any general advice.
- The level and field. Guidance for PhD applications differs from guidance for taught or research master’s applications, and humanities, social science and business programmes often state different ranges.
- What the count includes. Some limits exclude references, bibliographies and appendices; others include them (see below).
Word counts from university guidance
The table lists limits that universities state on their own admissions pages for PhD (or research-degree) proposals. It shows the spread, not a norm: it is a sample of four institutions, not a ranking and not an average. Figures checked 2026-10-29; programme pages change, so check the current wording before you write.
| Institution and programme | Stated length | References |
|---|---|---|
| University of York, History | Up to 1,000 words | Footnotes with sources do not count toward the limit |
| University of York, Health Sciences | About 500 to 1,000 words | May include up to 10 relevant references |
| University of York, Education | About 1,500 words | Not stated on the page |
| University of York, English and Related Literature | Typically 1,000 to 1,500 words; applicants are asked not to exceed 1,500 | Included in the limit |
| University of York, Law | Around 1,500 to 2,000 words | Bibliography excluded |
| University of York, Medieval Studies | At least 1,500 words | Not stated on the page |
| University of York, Social Policy and Social Work | 2,000 to 3,000 words | Included in the limit |
| University of York, Management (Business and Society PhD) | Around 4,000 words, as a guideline | Not stated on the page |
| University of York, Psychology (PhD) | Two to three pages, plus a 200 to 250 word summary | Not stated on the page |
| University of Edinburgh Business School, PhD with Integrated Study and MSc by Research in Management | 1,000 to 1,500 words | Excluded, as are appendices |
| University of Edinburgh Business School, PhD Business Economics, Financial Technology, Management Science and Analytics | 3,000 to 5,000 words | Excluded, as are appendices |
| King’s College London, EIS PhD | 2,000 to 3,000 words | Bibliography is added beyond the count |
| University of Glasgow, College of Social Sciences | Normally no more than 1,500 words | Not counted |
The same page at York also gives 250 to 350 words for some Physics, Engineering and Technology programmes and 500 to 1,000 words for some others, so a short proposal is a normal request in some fields and a long one is normal in others.
What counts toward the limit
A word limit is only comparable when you know what it covers. Those pages split into two groups:
- References excluded: Edinburgh Business School (also appendices), King’s College London (bibliography added beyond the count), Glasgow, and York’s Law and History guidance (footnotes with sources do not count).
- References included: York English and Related Literature (“including referencing”) and York Social Policy and Social Work (“including references”).
Two proposals of the same stated length can therefore carry different amounts of argument. If the instructions are silent on references, ask the admissions or graduate office rather than guessing. Where the page states a separate summary, such as York’s 200 to 250 word Psychology summary or 250 to 300 word English project summary, it is a separate item with its own limit.
How to spread the words across sections
None of the four institutions states a percentage split, so any “write 20% on methods” rule is an opinion, not a requirement. What each does state is the list of elements the proposal must contain, and the length limit has to cover all of them:
- Edinburgh Business School: a title; the specific topic or question; a brief summary of existing research; and an outline of the planned research, with a timeframe where possible.
- King’s College London: title; central research question and objectives; literature review; theoretical framework; case studies and methodology; problems; bibliography.
- Glasgow: a clear title; a precise research question; why it matters; engagement with recent work; the literatures it contributes to; theoretical or analytical framework; a brief methodology; primary sources; an indicative bibliography.
A practical way to use this: list every element your own instructions require, then give each one only the space it needs to be clear. A 1,000-word limit with nine required elements leaves little room for a long literature review; a 4,000-word limit leaves room for one. If you are writing the sections themselves, see CASRAI’s guides to how to write a research proposal, how to write a research problem statement, research objectives and the rationale of a study.
How to find your limit
- Read the programme page or call text first. It is the authoritative source and is usually specific to your department, degree and sometimes your entry route.
- Read any template provided. York, for example, links a proposal template from some programme pages.
- Ask the admissions office or prospective supervisor if the guidance is a range (“1,000 to 2,000 words”) or says “around” or “about”. Several of the limits above use soft wording (“about”, “around”), and ranges are not defined further.
- If no limit is given, ask the programme before you write; the table above shows that neighbouring programmes at one university can differ several-fold.
Checklist before you submit
- I have the limit from the current programme or scheme page, not from a blog or an older cohort.
- I know whether references, footnotes and appendices count.
- Every element the instructions require is present, in the order requested.
- Any separate summary or abstract meets its own limit (see how to write a research abstract).
- The word count was measured by the same method the institution uses (for example, with or without the title and headings), where that is stated.
Frequently asked questions
Is a PhD research proposal longer than a master’s proposal?
Not necessarily. At Edinburgh Business School the 1,000 to 1,500 word range applies to both a PhD pathway and an MSc by Research in Management, while other PhD pathways there run 3,000 to 5,000 words. Field and programme matter more than degree level.
Can I write fewer words than the stated range?
Ranges such as “1,000 to 2,000 words” describe what the department expects. Check that the required elements still fit; Edinburgh, King’s and Glasgow each list several. Where the page gives a maximum, such as Glasgow’s “no more than 1,500 words”, do not exceed it.
Is a research proposal measured in pages or words?
Usually words, but not always. York’s Psychology PhD guidance asks for two to three pages, with a separate 200 to 250 word summary. Follow whichever unit your instructions use.
Does the bibliography count?
It depends on the institution. Edinburgh Business School, King’s College London, Glasgow and York Law exclude it; York English and York Social Policy and Social Work include references in the count.
What about grant proposals?
Funded-project proposals are governed by each funder’s call text, not by the university limits above. CASRAI’s research proposal guide covers length by funder type, including NIH and NSF; always confirm against the current call text.
Sources
Checked 2026-10-29. Word limits are set by the institutions and can change between admissions cycles.
- University of York, Research proposal guidance (department-by-department requirements).
- University of Edinburgh Business School, PhD research proposal guidelines.
- King’s College London, EIS PhD research proposal guidelines.
- University of Glasgow, College of Social Sciences Graduate School, Research proposal.








